Easy Chicken Stock

I’ve been roasting whole chickens for quite some time now, but never saved the bones for making stock because I thought it was too hard or time consuming. I must say I was completely wrong.  I keep the bones frozen until I have enough to do the stock, and make a large batch when I’m ready. I also freeze parsley stems, leeks, and other veggie scraps to throw in the stock as well. You don’t even have to thaw the bones and scraps…just throw them all in the pot and cover with water.  No salt is added to the stock.  You wait until you are ready to use it in a recipe, then add the salt as needed.

This stock is absolutely amazing.  Never again will I use a store bought stock!

Ingredients

Leftover bones from 2 Roasted Chickens

2 Imported Bay Leaves

Handful of Parsley Stems

1 Large Onion, Chopped

2 Large Carrots, Peeled and Chopped

2 Stalks Celery, Chopped

1 Tb. Dried Tarragon

Spring/Mineral/Distilled Water

Method

Place all ingredients in a stock pot (excluding the water).

Stock Ingredients

Fill stock pot with water, covering all ingredients by one inch of water.

Bring to a boil.

Skim any thick matter that floats to the top, and reduce heat to simmer.

Cover askew, and simmer for one hour.

Use a slotted spoon to remove large bones, then pour stock into colander over large bowl.

Stock Colander

Pour stock back into pot through a small sieve or cheesecloth.

Stock Sieve

Let cool in refrigerator uncovered (covering will cause the fat to go rancid).

Skim off any fat.

I keep most of the stock in pre-measured bowls in the freezer so I can use as needed.

Stored Stock

Note: You may also use turkey bones.  I have some from a 13 lb. turkey frozen and ready for stock!

7 thoughts on “Easy Chicken Stock

    1. Thanks! I keep my veggie scraps in a glass jar with a lid, and have no issue. I’ve even thrown veggies loosely covered in the freezer and they’ve done fine. I keep them frozen for up to three weeks. Maybe since they’re raw it doesn’t mess up the taste?

  1. ok. that’s it! I have got to get me some whole chickens. This sounds delish, and I *know* I can do it. I’ve done it with turkey scraps, but never chicken.

    Now I just need to get me a chicken (or two) from the Hutterites.

    1. Yes, it is certainly easy and delicious. I roast my chickens in a casserole to save time, too. If it isn’t fast, I’m not able to do it because I’m always busy with my kids, ha ha!

  2. Funny thing – once you have kids you start caring about freezing food…My cooking is only complete if afterwards i have at least 2 portions in a freezer for a rainy day (when i’m too lazy to cook for my daughter :D)

Leave a Reply

