Low Carb / Sugar Free / Grain Free / Cheesecake Brownies

I am in love with these brownies.  They taste divine, and are good for you too!  All of the ingredients are incredibly easy to find…none of those weird sugar substitutes that you see in most low carbohydrate recipes!  The texture is more like that of cheesecake, so be sure to let them cool completely before you try to remove them from the pan.

Epic Brownie Tower
Epic Brownie Tower

Ingredients

Cheesecake Filling:

8 oz. Cream Cheese, softened

1 Egg

1/2 tsp. Vanilla

2 tsp. Powdered Stevia

Brownie Batter:

1 c. Almond Meal

5 Tb. Cocoa Powder

2 1/2 T. Powdered Stevia

6 Tb. Butter, melted

2 tsp. Vanilla

1/2 c. Greek Yogurt or Sour Cream

2 Eggs, beaten

Method

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Butter and dust an 8 x 8 baking dish with cocoa powder.

Dusting with cocoa powder keeps the recipe grain-free!
Dusting with cocoa powder keeps the recipe grain-free!

Melt the butter over low heat.

Mix the cheesecake ingredients in a glass bowl with a hand mixer until smooth.  Set aside.

In a large bowl, mix the Almond Meal, Cocoa, and Powdered Stevia.  Use a fork or whisk to break up any lumps.

Mix in the melted Butter.

Mix in the Vanilla, Yogurt/Sour Cream, and eggs.

Pour brownie batter into the prepared pan.

Pour the cheesecake filling on top, and mix the two batters with a butter knife to form “swirls.”  Be sure to mix them together well.

Bake for 30-35 minutes, until center is set and a toothpick inserted comes out clean.

Cool for at least fifteen minutes before serving.

Store any leftovers in the refrigerator for up to one week.

Updated 9-27-13.

16 thoughts on “Low Carb / Sugar Free / Grain Free / Cheesecake Brownies

  1. Thanks for this recipe. I made it today and it’s really good – not very sweet so I won’t devour them all quickly! Just perfect.

    1. Thanks! I have added 1-2 Tb. of brewed espresso to my regular chocolate brownies (no cheesecake) in the past with no problems, so I would think there wouldn’t be an issue using the powder.

  2. Does it have to be cream cheese spread, or is straight cream cheese OK? Also, I don’t have Powdered Stevia – can I substitute Swerve? In the same amount? Thanks – it looks AWESOME!!

    1. Sorry it took me a bit to reply! Straight cream cheese works fine as well (I’ve used both). Just make sure it is completely softened. I’m not familiar with Swerve, so I’m not sure if you can substitute it measure for measure.

    1. I usually dig the brownies out of the pan with my fingers and inhale them, ha ha! Yes, they are a bit crumbly if you try to remove them while they’re too hot. If you bake it too long, you run the risk of burning the cheese. I’ve found a rubber spatula is best for removing them from the pan. Let them cool 15-20 minutes before trying to remove them. If you refrigerate the brownies, they harden and are more manageable.

    1. Sorry I forgot to mention the size of the pan! It is for an 8 x 8. The recipe is for NuNaturals Brand Powdered Stevia. I’m in the process of switching brands, though, because NuNaturals has changed their formulation. It now takes almost TWICE as much stevia to notice any sweetness! I’ll adjust the recipe once I figure out which brand I will use.

  3. I baked these tonight and almost tripled the amount of sweetener the recipe called for… Believe it or not, they were still so bitter! I’m not sure what happened. They looked so yummy, but they didn’t taste good at all. I ended up making a light frosting to spread on top, because I hated the thought of tossing them out. 😦

    1. Oh, I’m sorry you had trouble with your sweetener! What brand of Stevia did you use? Originally, I wrote the recipe for NuNaturals brand powdered stevia, but had to re-write the recipe after NuNaturals changed their formula (it is terrible now…it is weak and bitter). I updated it for the SweetLeaf powdered stevia, which can have a bitter aftertaste if you’re not careful. Most of the time I taste the batter for sweetness before I bake it (I’m not squeamish about raw eggs). The brownie batter tastes a little sweeter than the baked brownies, but you can get an idea of how sweet it’s going to be.

Leave a Reply

